MEET YOUR 2024 BOARD OF DIRECTORS CANDIDATES



At Explorers, you have the privilege of being a member-owner, giving you a voice in important decisions. Our Nominating Committee has put forth two member-owners just like you who are responsible for appointing the CEO, guiding strategic planning, and representing the interests of our members. Those candidates are:



Cheryl Slowey Incumbent for a 3-Year Term

Cheryl and her husband, Tom, enjoy spending time with their two daughters and are blessed with four grandsons.

Cheryl gained experience in problem solving, directing staff, and working on committees during her 50 years as a Registered Nurse/Nursing Supervisor at Avera Sacred Heart Hospital prior to her retirement.

Her belief in the Explorers Credit Union direction and the Credit Union's ability to help others succeed is why she wishes to serve another term on the Board of Directors.

Cheryl is also a member of the Yankton Rodeo Association Board of Directors and she volunteers on the Lewis & Clark Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation Chapter Committee. Her hobbies include gardening, reading, and sewing.



Carla Hummel 3-Year Term

Carla and her husband, Randy, have lived in the Utica area for 30 years. They have 2 children: Valerie (Seth) and Samuel (Raelle) and three grandchildren: Mileah, Esther, and Althea. Carla also enjoys her two furbabies. Razzi and Trixie.

She has been a Director of Volunteer Services at Avera Sacred Heart for 23 years. Before the transition to Avera, Carla worked in banking.

Carla volunteers her time as a Missions Coordinator at First United Methodist Church, leads a bible study, and helps with 605 (kids' programming) on Wednesday nights. In her spare time she can be found taking long walks with her dogs, doing puzzles, UTV riding with her husband, and dabbling at restoring a '62 Impala.

Carla has been very active in the Yankton community through the years and is committed to continue serving the needs of this community.

Nominations by petitions closed as of April 14, and Cheryl Slowey and Carla Hummel were the only nominees. Both will serve the terms they were nominated for, and there will be no election. We can't wait to see you at our annual meeting on Friday, June 28th at 10am!

